• psud@aussie.zone
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    1
    arrow-down
    1
    ·
    edit-2
    2 months ago

    In BG3 (which mostly follows d&d 5e rules) you succeed in a skill check with DC 30 on a natural 20 even if you have less than +10 as a modifier on the roll

    Are you sure a 20 has no special meaning in checks in d&d (I presume you mean in d&d as it’s the most popular system)?

    • jounniy@ttrpg.network
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      1
      arrow-down
      1
      ·
      edit-2
      2 months ago

      Yes he is and no it does (edit: has) not. That is a common house rule Larian implemented into BG3, but it is not part of the original rules of DnD 5e.

      • psud@aussie.zone
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        2
        arrow-down
        1
        ·
        edit-2
        2 months ago

        I’m glad you know them so well. In what way is such a popularly used rule not a rule?

        Incidentally I find it interesting that d&d 3.5 specifically calls out that a 20 isn’t automatic success, and a 1 is not an automatic failure, where 5e removes that clarification, simply saying “if the roll plus bonuses is less than the DC the check fails”.

        That looks to me like they are leaving it more open to the common house rule